Connect with us

Marketing Tips

How To Delete Twitter Account From Anywhere: Quick Guide

Published

on

There’s no question that Twitter can provide a wealth of information, from breaking news to funny memes and lively debates. However, at times, it can also be overwhelming, addictive, and just plain unpleasant that you just feel like you want to delete your Twitter account.

Whether your screen time notification says you’ve spent a horrendous amount of time on your phone today, or you just don’t feel the need to share every inch of your life on an app anymore — it might be time to finally pull the plug on your online life and delete your account temporarily… or forever. 

This article provides you with the steps to take when you want to leave Twitter. You can either take a break or delete your account permanently.

Deactivating vs deleting your Twitter account

Deactivating your Twitter account is the first step to deleting your account permanently. Deactivation lasts 30 days. If you do not access your account within the 30-day deactivation period, your account is deleted and your username will no longer be associated with your account.

  • Deactivating your Twitter account

Deactivation begins the process of permanently deleting your Twitter account. This step initiates a 30-day window that gives you space to decide if you’d like to reactivate your account.

Deactivating your Twitter account means your username (or “handle”) and public profile will not be viewable on twitter.com, Twitter for iOS, or Twitter for Android.

  • Deleting your Twitter account

After your 30-day deactivation window, your Twitter account is permanently deleted. When you don’t log into your account during the 30-day window, it lets us know you want to permanently delete your Twitter account. Once your account is deleted, your account is no longer available in our systems. You won’t be able to reactivate your previous account and you won’t have access to any old Tweets.

How to delete Twitter account from a desktop

To delete Twitter account using desktop (Windows or Mac), follow the below steps:

  • Login to your Twitter account on your web browser.
  • In the menu on the left side of the Twitter homepage, click “More.”
how to delete Twitter account from desktop
  • Select “Settings and privacy” in the pop-up. 
how to delete Twitter account from desktop
  • At the top of the Settings menu, click “Your account.”
  • Then click “Deactivate your account” at the bottom of the “Your Account” menu.
how to delete Twitter account from desktop
  • In the “Deactivate account” section, choose a “Reactivation period.” You can select either 30 days or 12 months.
  • Click “Deactivate” at the bottom of the page.
  • Then enter your password and click “Deactivate.”
  • A pop-up should prompt you to finally finish deactivating your account.

How to deactivate Twitter account

To deactivate your Twitter account, follow the below steps:

  • Depending on your version of the Twitter app, click the profile icon or the hamburger menu at the top of the screen. 
  • Go into the Settings and privacy menu and tap Account.
  • Select Deactivate your account.
  • Tap Deactivate.
  • When prompted, enter your password and tap Deactivate.
  • Finally, tap Yes to confirm your decision.

How to delete suspended Twitter account

You cannot delete a suspended Twitter account directly. With Twitter’s strict policies, you have only two options to delete a suspended account:

  • Send a request to Twitter’s customer support
  • Unsuspend the account and then delete it

1. Send a request to Twitter

Twitter gives you the option of requesting to deactivate or close your suspended account. To use this option, follow these steps:

  • Visit Twitter’s Help Center
  • Select I’d like to deactivate or close my account
  • Complete the account access form that pops up and click Submit
  • Twitter will send you an email with more information about your request. They should also respond to your request with a resolution within a few days.

You can address your request to the contacts found in Twitter’s Contact us section of their privacy policy as well, especially if you have concerns about its use of your information.

2. Unsuspend your Twitter account and then delete it

Unsuspending your Twitter account depends on the type of suspension, and you will need to learn how to get unbanned from Twitter first. Once your Twitter account is active again, proceed as follows to delete the account:

  • Open your Twitter app
  • Navigate to “Settings and Privacy”
  • Find the “Account” tab
  • Locate and click on “Deactivate your account”
  • Read the account deactivation details
  • Click “Deactivate”
  • Type your password
  • Click the “Deactivate account” button

How to delete all tweets from Twitter account

This article will guide you on how to delete all tweets from your Twitter account. You can do this by following these steps:

Log into your Twitter account

Select the “Settings and privacy” option

Select “Delete Tweet” option

You will be shown all your Tweets listed in chronological order. Just click on the Delete Tweet button to delete them all at once!

Trending